Nov 11, 2016


WITH THE Kerrick Sports Sedan National series decided in the favour of now 10-time champion Tony Ricciardello, the battle for the Sydney Motorsport Park lap record and second in the championship will be the key storylines to follow this weekend.

Perkins and Daniel Tamasi are tied for second in the standings heading into this weekend’s final round in Sydney, while promising speed in practice today from the two key frontrunners has Perkins’ twelve-month old record under threat already.

The Audi A4-Chev driver banked a stunning 1m28.1783s lap in the third of three races in the equivalent 2015 round of the Kerrick Series - and he and Ricciardello both got close to that benchmark today.

Perkins’ fastest time of the day (1m28.48) was only three-tenths off the record pace while Ricciardello (1m28.61s) also went close.

New South Wales championship frontrunner Steve Lacey posted a 1m30.91s in the first session to go third quickest overall, just shading the two dominant runners at the front.

Quickest lap times were posted in the first session of the day while temperatures were still cool, with times slowing by nearly two seconds as the day evolved and the track temperature rose.

Perkins’ clear pace advantage makes him favourite to grab second in the championship, however in a year dominated by reliability issues for most of the key contenders the ‘first you must finish’ adage will likely also hold true this weekend.

The Supercars Championship race winner sits equal on points with Daniel Tamasi, while Michael Robinson (19 points behind) and Steven Tamasi (29 behind) are also in contention for the final spots on the series podium should the Audi trip up.

This weekend’s Kerrick Series field includes Colin Smith (Monaro), Beril Cetin (Camaro), Steven and Daniel Tamasi (Calibra and 300ZX, respectively), Michael Robinson (Monaro), Stuart Inwood (Corvette), while Paul Boschert (Corvette), and Mitsubishi Lancer EVO drivers Matthew Reid and Daniel Smith join the field for the first time.

Two, 20-minute qualifying sessions and the first 10-lap race will be held tomorrow, while the final two races of the season will be contested over 10-laps on Sunday afternoon – both to be streamed live via www.thenationals.com.au

PHOTOS: Rhys Vandersyde

2018 Calendar

1. May 23-24  Wakefield Park
2. July 4-5  Morgan Park
3. September 5-6  Sydney Motorsport Park
4. September 19-20  The Bend
5. November 28-29  Phillip Island

Championship Points

1. Tony Ricciardello 651
2. Jordan Caruso 540
3. Shane Woodman 428
4. Steven Tamasi 397
5. Michael Robinson 369