Aug 9, 2012


The fourth round of the Kerrick Sports Sedan Series at the Shannons Nationals this weekend will see a category stalwart unable to compete as another returns with new equipment, while the defending champion simply wants to keep winning at Queensland Raceway this weekend, in order to be in with a chance.

Currently third in this year’s title hunt with his Trans Am spec Chev Corvette, 2009 series victor Des Wall has been forced to miss this round after recent surgery while Phil Crompton is set to debut his exquisite Australian-built Ford Mustang Trans Am.

Meanwhile reigning and seven times category kingpin Tony Ricciardello has overcome a shocking start to his defence to win all three races at the last round and is now 81 points off the series lead with two rounds to play out.

“I just have to concentrate on winning races and let the rest play out as it will. Kerry (Baily) would need not to finish a race somewhere for me to have any chance,” Ricciardello said after his treble in the Chev V8-powered Alfa Romeo at Sydney Motorsport Park’s third round.

It has been a perfect start to the series for Baily and his striking Aston Martin/Chev V8 with round wins at the combination’s first two outings of Mallala and Phillip Island. At the latest he was second overall but unable to match the pace of Ricciardello or the Audi/Chev of Darren Hossack which was plagued with gearbox issues at SMP. Hossack’s bid for a third title was also off to a bad start as like Ricciardello, he had to borrow another car after his became incapacitated.

The absence of Wall from QR will pave the way for Hossack, Shane Bradford (Trans Am Chev Camaro) and Michael Robinson (Holden Monaro/Chev V8) to further their claims on podium placings in the five-round series. There is also a strong contingent of local state sports sedan competitors that will not only continue their local rivalry but put a scare or two into the national runners’ weekend plans.

Aussie Sports Sedans allows more freedoms than any other tin top category in the country, have been competing nationally since 1975, and can number among its winners such names as Allan Moffat, Frank Gardner, Allan Grice, Tony Edmondson and Allan Jones. Ricciardello is the most prolific winner with seven titles; Baily has five series trophies and Hossack two.

The Kerrick Sports Sedans are set to hit the circuit for two sessions of practice on Friday. There will be two 20 minute qualifying sessions on Saturday at 9:20am and 11:40pm, leading up to a 12-lap race at 4.10pm. On Sunday there will be two further races – at 10:40am and 3:00pm.

For all the latest news, information, vision and contacts regarding the 2012 Kerrick Australian Sports Sedan Series visit the www.sportssedans.com.au and www.thenationals.com.au websites. Watch live over the internet at www.itvlive.com.au or catch up with all the action on SBS Speedweek and Foxtel’s Speed in the coming weeks.


No         DRIVER                                                      CAR/ENGINE

1            Tony Ricciardello (WA)                             Alfa Romeo GTV/Chev V8 6000

4            Darren Hossack (Vic)                                 Audi A4/Chev V8 6000

6            Jeff Barnes (Qld)                                         Pontiac Trans AM/Chev V8 6000

14          Anthony Cox (Qld)                                    Saab/Dodge V8 6000

19          Damian Johnson (Vic)                                Holden Torana 3300

21          Anthony Cox (Qld)                                    Saab/Dodge V8 6000

27          Sean Sorensen (Qld)                                   Ford Anglia 3800

32          Michael Robinson (Vic)                              Holden Monaro/Chev V8 6000

44          Colin Smith (Qld)                                       Holden Monaro/Chev V8 6000

46          Mark Bowen (Qld)                                     Holden Commodore/Chev V8 5900

50          Geoff Russell (Qld)                                     Toyota Corolla 2000

51          Bob McLoughlin (Qld)                               Holden Commodore/Chev V8 6000

56          Bruce Banks (Tas)                                       Mazda RX7/Turbo Rotary 5998

58          Kerry Baily (Qld)                                        Aston Martin DBR9/Chev V8 6000



No         DRIVER                                                      CAR/ENGINE

21          Phil Crompton (Qld)                                  Ford Mustang V8 5936

68          Shane Bradford (Qld)                                 Chev Camaro/Chev V8 6000

2018 Calendar

1. May 23-24  Wakefield Park
2. July 4-5  Morgan Park
3. September 5-6  Sydney Motorsport Park
4. September 19-20  The Bend
5. November 28-29  Phillip Island

Championship Points

1. Tony Ricciardello 651
2. Jordan Caruso 540
3. Shane Woodman 428
4. Steven Tamasi 397
5. Michael Robinson 369