Oct 14, 2012


Reigning Kerrick Australian Sports Sedan Series title holder has indicated he won’t relinquish the crown all that easily after topping qualifying at Wakefield Park today. Driving his Alfa/Chev, Ricciardello left his pole sitting run to late in the second qualifier at the fifth and final round to pip title contending rivals Darren Hossack and Kerry Baily.

“We made a change after the first session and waited to the track was clear before making a run at it. The track was not at its best to be honest, quite slippery actually,” Ricciardello said. “Really we (with Hossack) are racing for race wins as the series won’t be up to us to determine who wins.”

Hossack finished up second in the Alfa/Chev and will start alongside Ricciardello in race one tomorrow. He echoed Ricciardello thoughts on the track conditions. “Obviously you get a gain on new tyres which we did but there is still more in the car and me,” Hossack said.

Series leader and favourite to take title number six, Kerry Baily looked set for fourth with Shane Bradford’s Chev Camaro sneaking into third for part of the session until Baily put together a time to move his Aston Martin/Chev to the inside of the second row. “I thought the track was very slippery,” he said.

Bradford’s Trans Am rival Phil Crompton (Ford Mustang) heads row three with Dameon Jameson’s Jaguar/Chev alongside and the Mazda of Bruce Banks and the Dodge-powered Saab of Anthony Cox immediately behind while Colin Smith’s Holden Monaro/Chev and the six-cylinder Holden Torana round out the top ten.

There will be three 15-lap races on Sunday’s Shannons Nationals program, starting at 10:20am, 12:20pm and 2:40pm that will determine the final outcome of this year’s title.

Aussie Sports Sedans allow more freedoms than any other tin top category in the country, have been competing nationally since 1975, and can number among its winners such names as Allan Moffat, Frank Gardner, Allan Grice, Tony Edmondson and Allan Jones. The somewhat different Trans Am cars run alongside Sports Sedans, are of similar performance but originated in the United States, are built differently and have varying rules.

For all the latest news, information, vision and contacts regarding the 2012 Kerrick Australian Sports Sedan Series visit the www.sportssedans.com.au and www.thenationals.com.au websites. Watch live over the internet at www.itvlive.com.au or catch up with all the action on SBS Speedweek and Foxtel’s Speed in the coming weeks.


1 Tony Ricciardello (Alfa Romeo GTV/Chev V8) 58.0346
2 Darren Hossack (Audi A4/Chev V8) 58.2782
3 Kerry Baily (Aston Martin DBR9/Chev V8) 58.4001
4 Shane Bradford (Chev Camaro V8) 59.1761
5 Phil Crompton (Ford Mustang V8) 60.2471
6 Dameon Jameson (Jaguar XKR/Chev V8) 60.8793
7 Bruce Banks (Mazda RX7 Rotary) 61.3535
8 Anthony Cox (Saab/Dodge V8) 61.4970
9 Colin Smith (Holden Monaro/Chev V8) 62.9440
10 Damian Johnson (Holden Torana Six) 65.3009


2018 Calendar

1. May 23-24  Wakefield Park
2. July 4-5  Morgan Park
3. September 5-6  Sydney Motorsport Park
4. September 19-20  The Bend
5. November 28-29  Phillip Island

Championship Points

1. Tony Ricciardello 651
2. Jordan Caruso 540
3. Shane Woodman 428
4. Steven Tamasi 397
5. Michael Robinson 369