Mar 23, 2013


SEVEN TIMES KERRICK Australian Sports Sedan Series title holder Tony Ricciardello had to pull out all stops to grab pole position for race one of round one to be held as part of the Shannons Australian Motor Racing Nationals tomorrow Sunday March 24.

Ricciardello blasted his Chev V8-powered Alfa Romeo around the Sydney Motorsport Park GP circuit, shading his existing lap record with a time of 1 minute 28.9231 seconds to pip arch-rival Darren Hossack in the Audi/Chev by less than a tenth of a second.

After the first of two qualifying sessions, current series winner Kerry Baily was third fastest in his title-winning Aston Martin/Chev was third but was pushed back to fourth when Shane Bradford trumped his time in the second session. Bradford got the best out of his Trans Am-spec Chev Camaro after it had been running on seven cylinders earlier.

Close behind this pair after the times were combined, were Daniel Tamasi in his Holden Calibra/Chev and Dameon Jameson’s Jaguar XKR/Chev. The Holden Monaro/Chev of Colin Smith ensued just ahead of Bruce Banks running in a Chris Jackson-owned Camaro rather than his usual Mazda RX7.

In position nine for the first of three races will be Jeff Barnes and his Pontiac Trans Am running with number 38 as a tribute to his late mate Des Wall who passed away last year while Michael Robinson’s Monaro/Chev will have the outside of the fifth row.

The Dodge-powered Saab of Anthony Cox was eleventh quickest ahead of Bob McLoughlin’s Commodore/Chev, the six cylinder Holden Torana of Damian Johnson and Peter McLeod, making a comeback to racing with a newly-built Mazda RX7.

The Kerrick Sports Sedans Series is set to hit the circuit on Sunday for three ten-lap races, scheduled for 9:40am, 12:25pm and 3:05pm.

For all the latest news, information, vision and contacts regarding the 2013 Kerrick Australian Sports Sedan Series visit the www.sportssedans.com.au and www.thennationals.com.au websites. Watch live over the internet on Sunday at www.thenationals.com.au  or catch up with all the action on SBS Speedweek and Foxtel’s Speed in the coming weeks.

2013 KERRICK SPORTS SEDAN SERIES – Round One Qualifying

1 Tony Ricciardello (WA) Alfa Romeo GTV/Chev 1:28.9231 
2 Darren Hossack (Vic) Audi A4/Chev 1:29.0035 
3 Shane Bradford (Qld) Chev Camaro 1:31.8381 
4 Kerry Baily (Qld) Aston Martin DBR9/Chev 1:31.8315 
5 Daniel Tamasi (Vic) Holden Calibra/Chev 1:32.0032 
6 Dameon Jameson (NSW) Jaguar XKR/Chev 1:32.4944 
7 Colin Smith (Qld) Holden Monaro/Chev 1:34.8285 
8 Bruce Banks (Tas) Chev Camaro 1:35.0568 
9 Jeff Barnes (Qld) Pontiac Trans Am 1:35.1674 
10 Michael Robinson (Vic) Holden Monaro/Chev 1:35.2902 
11 Anthony Cox (Qld) Saab/Chev 1:36.3467 
12 Bob McLoughlin (NZ) Holden Commodore/Chev 1:39.3257 
13 Damian Johnson (Vic) Holden Torana 1:40.4798 
14 Peter McLeod (NSW) Mazda RX7 1:45.3974 


2018 Calendar

1. May 23-24  Wakefield Park
2. July 4-5  Morgan Park
3. September 5-6  Sydney Motorsport Park
4. September 19-20  The Bend
5. November 28-29  Phillip Island

Championship Points

1. Tony Ricciardello 651
2. Jordan Caruso 540
3. Shane Woodman 428
4. Steven Tamasi 397
5. Michael Robinson 369