Mar 24, 2013

Ricciardello takes inaugural Des Wall Trophy

Tony Ricciardello capped off a perfect start to his 2013 Kerrick Sports Sedan Series campaign by winning the inaugural Des Wall Trophy at Sydney Motorsport Park.

The trophy, introduced to honour the former series champion who passed away late last year, will be awarded to the winner of Race 3 of the opening round of each season.

Ricciardello’s Alfa GTV led home the Aston Martin of Kerry Baily by in excess of 11 seconds in the trophy race.

Baily was second for the weekend after recording fourth and second place results in Races 1 and 2 respectively.

Darren Hossack had been Ricciardello’s closest rival in Race 1 but failed to finish the second race to due a mechanical failure on his Audi.

The former series winner charged through the field to once again challenge Ricciardello in the final before a spin at Turn 1 spun Hossack into the barriers and out of the race.

Hossack’s demise allowed Daniel Tamasi (Holden Calibra) to take third in Race 3 ahead of Bruce Banks (Chev Camaro) and Colin Smith (Holden Monaro).

Jeff Barnes had taken third in Race 2 on the very last lap from Shane Bradford, but saw his weekend end on a sour note with a failure to finish in the final.

2018 Calendar

1. May 23-24  Wakefield Park
2. July 4-5  Morgan Park
3. September 5-6  Sydney Motorsport Park
4. September 19-20  The Bend
5. November 28-29  Phillip Island

Championship Points

1. Tony Ricciardello 651
2. Jordan Caruso 540
3. Shane Woodman 428
4. Steven Tamasi 397
5. Michael Robinson 369