Sep 20, 2013


ROUND FOUR OF THE Kerrick Australian Sports Sedan Series could be a record breaker this weekend at Phillip Island. Weather pending the resurfacing of the Victorian island circuit should lead to some stunning times by the category’s big three Darren Hossack, Tony Ricciardello and Kerry Baily on the huge Shannons Nationals Motor Racing Championships program.

Of the three, the least concerned will be Queenslander Baily who will be more intent of consolidating and protecting his 50-point lead and step closer to securing a back-to-back and seventh title in his Chev V8-powered Aston Martin DBR9. Victorian Hossack (Audi A4/Chev) and West Aussie Ricciardello (Alfa Romeo GTV/Chev) on the other hand consider themselves out of title contention after failures during the year and just want to win races and rewrite record books.

Baily’s major title challenger at this stage is Queenslander Shane Bradford and his Chev Camaro while Tasmanian Bruce Banks in a NSW-based Chev Camaro has been the model of consistency this year and currently occupies third place only ten points further behind. Besides being second in the series, Bradford is also the leading Trans Am, ahead of Banks, and he will have to battle the Ford Mustang of fellow Queenslander Phil Crompton as well as the Chev Corvette’s Dean Camm and Charlie Senese.

There will be a quality rollup of interstate cars and talent as well as the locals, including Queenslanders Bob McLoughlin (Commodore/Chev), Anthony Cox (Saab/Dodge) and Colin Smith (Holden Monaro/Chev), plus Victorians Daniel Tamasi (Calibra/Chev), Michael Robinson (Monaro/Chev) and Damien Johnson’s Holden Torana, as well as the exquisite Jaguar XKR/Chev of NSW’s Dameon Jameson.

The Phillip Island field is predominately Chev V8 powered, where the Australian Sports Sedans allow more freedoms than any other sedan category in the country. They have been competing nationally since 1975, and can list among its winners such names as Allan Moffat, Frank Gardner, Allan Grice, Tony Edmondson and Allan Jones. Originally created in the United States, the Trans Am cars run alongside Sports Sedans, look similar but are built differently, but produce very similar lap times to the Aussie cars.

The Kerrick Sports Sedans are set to hit the circuit for three 15-minute practice sessions on Friday, September 20 at 10:25am, 12:25pm and 3:35pm, leading to a pair of qualifying outings the next day, Saturday September 21, at 9:50am and 12:45pm. The three 9-lap races are scheduled for 10:10am, 1:40pm and 4:00pm on Sunday, September 22.





No       ENTRANT/SPONSOR                                          DRIVER                                                       CAR

1        Rent Depot                                               Kerry Baily (Qld)                          Aston Martin DBR9/Chev V8

4        Auto Union Deutsche                             Darren Hossack (Vic)                   Audi A4/Chev V8

5        B&M Ricciardello Motors                        Tony Ricciardello (WA)               Alfa Romeo GTV

9        Luxury Auto Body                                   Daniel Tamasi (Vic)                      Holden Calibra/Chev V8

14      Rosemount Smash Repairs                      Anthony Cox (Qld)                      Saab/Dodge V8

19      Johnson Motorsport                                 Damian Johnson (Vic)                  Holden Torana 6

32      Bell Real Estate                                         Michael Robinson (Vic)                Holden Monaro/Chev V8

44      MR Automotive                                       Colin Smith (Qld                          Holden Monaro/Chev V8

45      Campbelltown Frames & Trusses           Dameon Jameson (NSW)             Jaguar XKR/Chev V8

51      MR Automotive                                       Bob McLoughlin (NZ)                  Commodore VS/Chev V8



No       ENTRANT/SPONSOR                                          DRIVER                                                       CAR

21      Moonbi Oil Traders                                 Phil Crompton (Qld                     Ford Mustang

66      Five Star Fencing & Gates                       Dean Camm (Vic                          Chev Corvette

68      Aston Air Conditioning                          Shane Bradford (Qld)                   Chev Camaro

72      BJ Banks Electrical                                   Bruce Banks (Tas)                         Chev Camaro

81      The Car Mine/Liqui Moly/Meguiars       Charlie Senese (Qld)                     Chev Corvette


Round 1      March 23-24                                    Sydney Motorsport Park, NSW

Round 2      April 20-21                                      Mallala Motorsport Park, SA

Round 3      August 3-4                                      Queensland Raceway, Qld

Round 4      September 21-22                             Phillip Island, Vic

Round 5      November 16-17                             Sandown, NSW

Points after three rounds

Kerry Baily 355, Shane Bradford 315, Bruce Banks 310, Tony Ricciardello 308, Daniel Tamasi 260, Jeff Barnes 198, Darren Hossack 188, Colin Smith 152, Bob McLoughlin 120, Tony Cox 103, Dameon Jameson 95, Damian Johnson 71, Charlie Senese 50, Michael Robinson 42, Garry Aston 37.

Previous Kerrick Series Winners 2012 Kerry Baily (Aston Martin/Chev), 2011 Tony Ricciardello (Alfa/Chev V8), 2010 James Sera (Saab/Chev), 2009 Des Wall (Chev Corvette), 2008 Darren Hossack (Audi/Chev), 2007 Tony Ricciardello (Alfa/Chev), 2006 Dean Randle (Saab/Chev).

For all the latest news, information, vision and contacts regarding the 2013 Kerrick Australian Sports Sedan Series visit the www.sportssedans.com.au and www.thenationals.com.au websites. Watch live over the internet on Sunday at www.itvlive.com.au or catch up with all the action on SBS Speedweek and Foxtel’s Speed in the coming weeks.


2018 Calendar

1. May 23-24  Wakefield Park
2. July 4-5  Morgan Park
3. September 5-6  Sydney Motorsport Park
4. September 19-20  The Bend
5. November 28-29  Phillip Island

Championship Points

1. Tony Ricciardello 651
2. Jordan Caruso 540
3. Shane Woodman 428
4. Steven Tamasi 397
5. Michael Robinson 369