Nov 14, 2013


BY THE MIDDLE of next Sunday afternoon the winner of the 2013 Kerrick Australian Sports Sedan Series will be known. With the completion of the fifth round this weekend at the Sandown Raceway Shannons Nationals, it could be title number eight for a seven-time winner or it could be someone new.

Two rounds ago, none of the three now in contention, really rated themselves but how soon things change. Tasmanian Bruce Banks finds himself an unlikely series leader, starting the season with a Chev Camaro and racing most recently, racing his trusty Mazda RX7. Queenslander Shane Bradford (Chev Camaro) always believed he had what it takes to be in contention . . . and still is, while West Australia’s Tony Ricciardello (Alfa Romeo/Chev) felt he had the pace but not enough rounds left to make it work.

These scenarios have largely been brought about by Kerry Baily’s exclusion from the results of two of the races at Phillip Island’s round four and the subsequent withdrawal of the title-leading Aston Martin/Chev from the final round, due to bushfires affecting his business.

Banks holds a 22-point lead over Bradford while Ricciardello is a further 14 points adrift and how the final points play out, will depend where others finish . . . like the very quick Darren Hossack whose primary aim is just to win races in the Audi/Chev and fellow Victorian Daniel Tamasi’s Calibra Chev which has the pace to match or beat most in a straight line at least.

There will be a quality rollup to add to the mix including Queenslanders Bob McLoughlin (Commodore/Chev), Anthony Cox (Saab/Dodge), Colin Smith (Holden Monaro/Chev) and Charlie Senese (Chev Corvette) plus Victorians Michael Robinson (Monaro/Chev), Peter Beninca’s two litre Alfa Romeo and Damien Johnson’s Holden Torana, as well as the exquisite Jaguar XKR/Chev of NSW’s Dameon Jameson.

The Sandown Raceway field is predominately Chev V8 powered. The Australian Sports Sedans allow more freedoms than any other sedan category in the country and have been competing nationally since 1975. The category can list among its winners such names as Allan Moffat, Frank Gardner, Allan Grice, Tony Edmondson and Allan Jones. Originally created in the United States, the Trans Am cars run alongside Sports Sedans, look similar, are built differently but produce very similar lap times to the Aussie cars.

The Kerrick Sports Sedans are set to hit the circuit for three 20-minute practice sessions on Friday, November 15 at 10:00am, 12:40pm and 3:20pm, leading to a pair of qualifying outings the next day, Saturday November 16, at 10:05am and 1:20pm. The first of three 12-lap races is scheduled for later in the day at 3:50am, before the final two races on Sunday November 17 at 10:40am and 1:10pm.



No       ENTRANT/SPONSOR                                          DRIVER                                                    CAR

4        Auto Union Deutsche                             Darren Hossack (Vic)                Audi A4/Chev V8

5        B&M Ricciardello Motors                        Tony Ricciardello (WA)             Alfa Romeo GTV

9        Luxury Auto Body                                   Daniel Tamasi (Vic)                   Holden Calibra/Chev V8

11      Beninca Motors                                        Peter Beninca (Vic)                    Alfa Romeo GTV/Nissan QR20

14      Rosemount Smash Repairs                      Anthony Cox (Qld)                    Saab/Dodge V8

19      Johnson Motorsport                                 Damian Johnson (Vic)               Holden Torana 6

32      Bell Real Estate                                         Michael Robinson (Vic)             Holden Monaro/Chev V8

44      MR Automotive                                       Colin Smith (Qld                        Holden Monaro/Chev V8

45      Campbelltown Frames & Trusses           Dameon Jameson (NSW)          Jaguar XKR/Chev V8

51      MR Automotive                                       Bob McLoughlin (NZ)               Commodore VS/Chev V8

56      BJ Banks Electrical                                   Bruce Banks (Tas)                      Mazda RX7


No       ENTRANT/SPONSOR                                          DRIVER                                                    CAR

68      Aston Air Conditioning                          Shane Bradford (Qld)                Chev Camaro

81      The Car Mine/Liqui Moly/Meguiars       Charlie Senese (Qld)                  Chev Corvette


2018 Calendar

1. May 23-24  Wakefield Park
2. July 4-5  Morgan Park
3. September 5-6  Sydney Motorsport Park
4. September 19-20  The Bend
5. November 28-29  Phillip Island

Championship Points

1. Tony Ricciardello 651
2. Jordan Caruso 540
3. Shane Woodman 428
4. Steven Tamasi 397
5. Michael Robinson 369