Apr 26, 2014


Tony Ricciardello is in the box seat ahead of race day for the Kerrick Sports Sedan Series at Mallala Motorsport Park, taking pole position for race one courtesy of a 1 minute 05.7595 second effort in the morning qualifying session – the quickest Sports Sedan qualifying lap ever for the venue.

Joining him on the front row tomorrow morning will be long-time sparring partner Darren Hossack following his afternoon session-topping 1m 06.3886s effort. Third-fastest was Steven Tamasi in his national series debut, with the young builder set to line up alongside Trans-Am competitor Shane Bradford on the second row (full results below).

The Kerrick Sports Sedan Series will return to the track tomorrow (Sunday) for three races with the first to kick off at 9.35am ahead of the prestigious Clem Smith Cup (race 2 at 12.35pm) and the Des Wall Trophy (race three at 4.15pm).

Tony Ricciardello in action at Mallala Motorsport Park (credit - Kerrick Sports Sedan Series/Nathan Wong)

“We are happy with the result, the car is feeling pretty good,” said Ricciardello, driver of the #5 B&M Ricciardello Motors Alfa Romeo GTV and holder of the standing Sports Sedan Mallala race lap record set in 2008.

“(Resetting the race lap record) is not really too important to us, but if the track conditions are right I think we should be able to, as the car is better than last time.

“The most important thing for us is to finish all three races so we can maximise our points, obviously getting consistent results is where you can win a championship, being the fastest doesn’t always make the difference so we have to make sure we have a good race, look after the car and look after the tyres.

“Our general race pace is as quick if not quicker than what we set in qualifying, so that is what we will be aiming for.”

For Hossack, gear box issues in the #4 Auto Union Deutche Audi A4 made the day a challenging one.

Darren Hossack at Mallala Motorsport Park (credit - Kerrick Sports Sedan Series/Nathan Wong)

“The car is actually quite fast, but we have had some gearbox issues so our main focus today has been about trying to sort those issues out and get the car right for the race,” said Hossack.

“We don’t put a lot of emphasis on qualifying, as long as you are on the front row it doesn’t really matter what side you are on – tomorrow is pay day, so we feel you are better off making sure you have good tyres for race day.

“The car is pretty fast and as per usual there isn’t much between us and Tony, this track probably suits him a little better than us but we have done a lot of work to get me better and the car better – for us the number one focus will be to come away from this weekend in the mix for the championship, if we win that is great but if we don’t we will be happy as long as we are still in there and can fight on.”

Third-fastest Tamasi is making his national series debut, stepping in to the #9 Domain Prestige Homes Holden Calibra his father Daniel Tamasi has campaigned in the Series for years.

“I am pretty happy, I wasn’t expecting to be faster than Tony or Darren, we have been working pretty hard and now we will just tinker over the car and see how we go!” said Tamasi.

Daniel Tamasi in action at Mallala Motorsport Park - credit Kerrick Sports Sedan Series/Nathan Wong

Racing for the Kerrick Sports Sedan Series kicks off tomorrow (Sunday) at 9.35am for race one, followed by race two and the Clem Smith Cup at 12.35pm. The final race of the day, also including the Des Wall Trophy, will be held at 4.15pm to close out the race program for this weekend’s Shannons Nationals festivities. Live streaming of all of Sunday’s action at Mallala Motorsport Park will be available thanks to Nationals TV from 9.00am, available at http://thenationals.com.au/index.php?page=nationals-tv. Tickets for tomorrow’s action are just $25.00 with children aged 14 and under gaining free admission. For full event info, please go to http://www.sportssedans.com.au/index.php?page=mallala


Combined qualifying results

  1. #5 Tony Ricciardello - B&M Ricciardello Motors Alfa Romeo GTV  - 1m 05.7595s
  2. #4 Darren Hossack – Auto Union Deutche Audi A4 – 1m 06.3886s
  3. #9 Steven Tamasi – Domain Prestige Homes Holden Calibra – 1m 08.0984s
  4. #68 Shane Bradford – Aston Air Conditioning Chev Camaro – 1m 09.1845
  5. #44 Colin Smith – MR Automotive Holden Monaro – 1m 09.8218s
  6. #32 Michael Robinson – Bell Real Estate Holden Monaro – 1m 10.9909s
  7. #1 Bruce Banks – BJ Banks Electrical Mazda RX7 – 1m 11.3001s
  8. #67 Bruce Henley – Stawell Cartage Mazda RX8 – 1m 11.4817s
  9. #8 Simon Pfitzner – Pfitzner Performance Gearbox Ford Falcon – 1m 14.0466s
  10. #81 Charlie Senese – The Car Mine/Liqui Moly/Meguia Chev Corvette – 1m 14.5460s

For further results, please go to www.natsoft.com.au and follow the links to the 2014 Shannons Australian Motor Racing Nationals Round Two results



1 - Tony Ricciardello - credit Kerrick Sports Sedan Series/Nathan Wong

2 - Darren Hossack - credit Kerrick Sports Sedan Series/Nathan Wong

3 - Steven Tamasi - credit Kerrick Sports Sedan Series/Nathan Wong

2018 Calendar

1. May 23-24  Wakefield Park
2. July 4-5  Morgan Park
3. September 5-6  Sydney Motorsport Park
4. September 19-20  The Bend
5. November 28-29  Phillip Island

Championship Points

1. Tony Ricciardello 651
2. Jordan Caruso 540
3. Shane Woodman 428
4. Steven Tamasi 397
5. Michael Robinson 369