May 17, 2015


Defending champion Tony Ricciardello has claimed victory at round two of the Kerrick Sports Sedan Series in the #5 B&M Ricciardello Motors Alfa Romeo GTV by three points over race one winner Tom Randle in the #93 Kerrick/CKAS SAAB.

Ricciardello was recently awarded the Guinness World Record for the most Sports Sedan championships courtesy of his eight titles. 

The pair entered this afternoon’s third and final race of the weekend separated by just one point in the round standings after having claimed a race win each to that point, but when Randle spun on turn one after contact with a locked-up Michael Robinson in the #32 Bell Real Estate Holden Monaro, he was forced to carve through the field to come home in second-place.

Steven Tamasi crossed the finish line in third in this afternoon’s race in the #9 Domain Prestige Homes Holden Calibra but we reclassified to seventh after inadvertently passing under yellow flag conditions. Courtesy of his earlier race results he would claim third for the round.

Earlier in the day, Ricciardello had taken victory from race one winner Randle with a late race snatch of the lead from the young gun while setting a new lap record. Earlier Tamasi had lead the opening corners after a great start from the front row of the grid. While Randle chased Tamasi, Ricciardello battled with the naturally-aspirated #19 Centreline Suspension Mazda RX7 of Chris Muscat – winner of the Kerrick award this weekend -before going on to lay down the hammer to chase after first Tamasi and then Randle.

As always, there were plenty of battles further back in the pack in both races – with the Holden Monaros of Robinson and Colin Smith keeping the race fans entertained in both races, as did Shane Woodman, Bruce Henley, Graeme Gilliland, Bruce Banks, Liam Hill, Muscat, McLeod and Andrew Brown – with the latter having everyone gasping with a dramatic departure from turn one in the first race with a brake failure, that saw his Mazda RX7 completely airborne for a moment.

Also encountering issues today were Liam Hill with (two DNFs due to mechanical issues) and Ian Rice (retired following race one with an engine valve problem), while Barry Megaw and Peter McLeod were unable to greet the start for race two after fuel pump wiring issues in parc ferme and a broken drive shaft on the out-lap respectively, with McLeod also failing to finish race three.

Missing from today’s action was the #4 Auto Union Deutsche Audi A4 – being contested this weekend by Holden Racing Team V8 Supercar enduro driver Jack Perkins on behalf of injured driver Darren Hossack. The Audi was forced to withdraw after lap one of yesterday’s opening race with a broken gearbox. Also failing to line-up for the grid of races two and three was Peter Beninca in the naturally-aspirated #11 Beninca Motors Alfa Romeo GTV, with that entry also withdrawing after becoming stranded on turn 9 of yesterday’s opening race when Beninca spun to avoid contact with a spinning McLeod. For more on yesterday’s proceedings, please 
click here.

Next up for the Kerrick Sports Sedan Series is round three at Queensland Raceway across August 7-9, 2015. For more information about the Series, please visitwww.sportssedans.com.au


Tony Ricciardello - #5 B&M Ricciardello Motors Alfa Romeo GTV – Round Winner
“It wasn’t all one way this weekend, we had to press hard after the qualifying and race one incidents we had yesterday and also from a couple of vehicle issues, but it is one of those things where it is all about the way you bounce back and I  think we bounced back pretty well. This morning the car was hooking up pretty well and that lap record was pretty impressive for us as we didn’t expect to have that sort of speed, it was really good for us. It was a bit disappointing that in the last race Thomas wasn’t able to have a race with us, but first corners don’t win races – the last one does! It was a great job by the team, and Queensland is going to be interesting. We have a bit of a break now between rounds and we will leave the car here on the East Coast and do our little bit of maintenance ahead of the round, and it should be good to go – we are looking forward to it.”

Tom Randle - #93 Kerrick/CKAS SAAB – Round Runner-Up
“Firstly I would like to say congrats to Tony, he has done a great job this weekend and really turned it on this weekend. I would also like to thank the guys at Dream Motorsport for all the hours they put in, it is just unbelievable and it is a credit to them. The last race today didn’t exactly go to plan. We were alongside Tony for the start and I was a bit cautious for turn one as we made a couple of changes, Stevie (Tamasi) got us off the start and then mid-way through turn one we got a bit of a whack which I think was from Michael Robinson, which saw us go from third to last. But we just kept going, the boys just told me to keep pushing and from then on it was a really exciting race, we got up to second at the end and we kept it on track. There a lot of positives to take away, we still finished and we still got second in the points. Queensland will be good, it has been good and bad for me in the past in formula ford but we will really take the fight to Tony.”

The Kerrick Sports Sedan Series is one of the most exciting on the annual Shannons Australian Motor Racing Nationals calendar, pitting a range of ‘wild and winged’ modified sports sedans and trans-ams against each other. Part of The Nationals since its inception in 2006, the Kerrick Sports Sedans represent the fastest tin-tops in Australia and in some cases, the fastest outright cars on a number of national circuits. In 2015, the Kerrick Sports Sedan Series will contest five national circuit racing events across four states:


  • Round One – 27-29 March, Sandown Raceway
  • Round Two – 15-17 May, Winton Motor Raceway
  • Round Three – 7-9 August, Queensland Raceway
  • Round Four – 16-18 October, Wakefield Park
  • Round Five – 13-15 November, Sydney Motorsport Park
For more information on the Kerrick Sports Sedan Series, please visitwww.sportssedans.com.au

2018 Calendar

1. May 23-24  Wakefield Park
2. July 4-5  Morgan Park
3. September 5-6  Sydney Motorsport Park
4. September 19-20  The Bend
5. November 28-29  Phillip Island

Championship Points

1. Tony Ricciardello 651
2. Jordan Caruso 540
3. Shane Woodman 428
4. Steven Tamasi 397
5. Michael Robinson 369