Nov 10, 2015

Kerrick Series set to go down to the wire in Sydney

With 135 points on offer and just 34 points between first and third position in the championship standings, the final round of the 2015 Kerrick Sports Sedan Series this weekend (November 13-15) is sure to be intense.

As the thunderous tin tops get ready to hit Sydney Motorsport Park this weekend, eight-time and reigning champion Tony Ricciardello leads Steven Tamasi by just 11 points, with Tom Randle in third place just 34 points adrift of the points leader. To hear from the championship contenders, please see below.

All three have been enjoying a strong year, but they won’t be the only ones to keep an eye on this weekend – with V8 Supercar race winner Jack Perkins also set to be on-track in the #4 Auto Union Deutsche Audi A4. While Perkins isn’t in the running for the title, he has taken victory in the last six straight races, and will be looking to continue his streak with no championship pressure upon his shoulders. For more on Perkins’ entry, please click here.

Also taking to the track will be Phil Crompton in the #12 Moonbi Oil Traders Ford Mustang, Shane Woodman in the Landells Signs BMW M3, Stuart Inwood in the A1 Towing AU Ford Falcon, Michael Robinson in the #32 Bell Real Estate Holden Monaro, Bruce Henley in the #43 Stawell Cartage Mazda RX8, Colin Smith in the #44 MR Automotive Holden Monaro, Bruce Banks in the #56 BJ Banks Electrical Mazda RX7, and Birol Cetin in the #27 Billy’s Motorsport and Auto Services Chev Camaro.

The action at Sydney Motorsport Park will kick off with unofficial practice on Friday the 13th of November, ahead of qualifying and race one on Saturday the 14th of November and two further races on Sunday the 15th. For full event information, please visit sportssedans.com.au


Tony Ricciardello - #1 B & M Ricciardello Motors Alfa Romeo GTV – leading the championship by 11 points

“Winning the championship is what we always aim for. Holding this amount of titles in one category is a huge achievement, it proves that our hard work pays off, and as taking the title is our aim every year, winning the title is always a massive achievement for all of us. The team has definitely been preparing for this round, so we have done the hard yards, but you can never be too confident. We take each weekend as it comes as you never know what Mother Nature will throw at us, but we always work on our strengths and focus on moving our weaknesses to strengths. I have to thank our sponsors who offer our team great support and encouragement – without B & M Ricciardello Motors, Weststyle, Perth’s Carspa, BOWRA Signs, Tows R Us, CIC, JD Spray Painting, Castrol, and Bendigo Bank in North Perth and Osborne Park, we couldn’t do what we do.”

Steven Tamasi - #9 Domain Prestige Homes Holden Calibra – second in the title points, 11 points adrift of Tony Ricciardello

“With the championship standings as they are I am confident that we can give pressure to Tony, with our consistency in race finishes. Realistically, with the pace of our cars at the moment it is going to come down to whose car is fit to finish and/or stay on the black stuff. The title chase has been pretty neat this year for us, it has had a few ups and downs with a few position changes which has given some excitement, and hopefully next year the point margins are even closer. It feels good to be in the position that I am in, the car and myself have enjoyed huge progress over the time that I have been in the Calibra and asking for more than that would be a little greedy! Overall I am very happy with the team and the car, and hopefully the development and progress will continue into next year. Sydney Motorsport Park is a great track, I am happy to be going back to a high speed track. I have done a few laps there and so I should be right up to my times of last year straight off the bat – I can’t wait!”

Tom Randle - #93 Kerrick/CKAS SAAB – third in the title points, 34 points adrift of Tony Ricciardello, 23 points behind Tamasi.

“To be completely honest the championship chase at the moment is pretty tough. The two DNFs over the last two rounds have make it quite difficult to stay in the hunt, but to still only be 34 points behind with 135 points up for grabs at the last round is definitely a positive, and we'll try and do everything we can to finish every race right up the pointy end to bag some good points and hopefully move up two spots in the championship! The 2015 title has been interesting, to say the least. It started off great with us grabbing the first win of the season, then having to start from pit lane when I was supposed to start on pole made it even tougher. It seems I’ve had to charge from the back in at least one race at each round this year! However the pace we have shown against Jack (Perkins) and Tony (Ricciardello has been promising, and I am enjoying getting to race wheel to wheel with both of them. As a typical racer you always want to be in a better position (unless you're winning). Even though it's my first full season in the Sports Sedans, I'm still very competitive and always go out there and do my very best and try to win, no matter what the circumstances are. It certainly would have been nice to have been a lot closer in the championship or even leading it going into the final round, but at the end of the day, this is Motor Racing, and these things happen. I absolutely love SMP, it’s got a variety of every style of corner, very fast, very slow and medium corners where you've really got to wrestle the car. It has a very long straight, lots of undulation and is a proper driver’s circuit. It’s going to be very fast on approach to turn one in a Sports Sedan. I'd just really like to thank everyone who has got me this far. My Dad, Dream Motorsport, Frank Capo, James White, Daniel Young, Total Traction Drivelines, D&F Racing, Lou from Dandy Engines, Kluber, Ultimate Cutting Services, Budget Tapes. Without these guys I definitely wouldn't be contesting for the title, let alone the championship!”

2018 Calendar

1. May 23-24  Wakefield Park
2. July 4-5  Morgan Park
3. September 5-6  Sydney Motorsport Park
4. September 19-20  The Bend
5. November 28-29  Phillip Island

Championship Points

1. Tony Ricciardello 651
2. Jordan Caruso 540
3. Shane Woodman 428
4. Steven Tamasi 397
5. Michael Robinson 369