Jul 14, 2012


Seven times series title holder Tony Ricciardello has struck back after a disastrous start to the season to claim pole position for the third round of the Kerrick Australian Sports Sedan Series. Ricciardello topped both of today's qualifying sessions in the rebuilt Chev-powered Alfa Romeo and recorded a best time of 1 minute 29.9890 seconds.

Ricciardello headed up a field of 27 spectacular Sports Sedans and Trans Am cars at the newly name Sydney Motorsport Park (formerly Eastern Creek) as part of the fifth round of the Shannons Nationals and was pleased with the performance of the car. "We had a miss in the engine at the last round and it was still there in practice yesterday. I didn't go out there particularly to set a time, I was just looking for a nice balance in the car," he said. "At this stage of the series we are looking to win races, then see where we are at later."

Second fastest after the B&M Ricciardello Motors Alfa was the similarly powered Auto Union Deutche Audi of Darren Hossack who posted his times on used tyres rather than the new set. "As long as I am on the front row, I am happy. I wasn't bothered which side of the circuit I would have to start from and I am more concerned about having reasonable rubber by the second half of the third race tomorrow," he said.

Series leader and winner of five of the six races contested, Kerry Baily was third fastest utilising his allocated new tyre set on the Aston Martin/Chev while Des Wall did minimal laps to conserved both his used and new sets for fourth and fastest of the Trans Am Cars in the Chev Corvette.

State racer Chris Jackson was fifth fastest in his Holden Calibra/Chev ahead of the Trans Am Chev Camaro of Shane Bradfort, Dameon Jameson (Jaguar/Chev), Birol Cetin (Camaro) and Scott Reed's eye-catching Ford Mustang Trans Am.

Just out of the top ten came V8 Chev-powered cars of Jeff Barnes (Pontiac), Geoff Whittacker (Commodore), Anthony Macready (Nissan) and Simon Copping (Commodore), followed by Sturat Inword's Ford Falcon and the Calibra of David McGinniss, Dean Camm (Corvette), Chris Donnelly (Falcon), and Michael Robinson and Colin Smith in their Monaros.

The fastest cars were hitting the 275 kilometres per hour on the main straight and more should tomorrow come when racing commences at 9:35am for the first of three ten-lap races and followed at 11:25am and 2:00pm by races two and three.

For all the latest news, information, vision and contacts regarding the 2012 Kerrick Australian Sports Sedan Series visit the www.sportssedans.com.au and www.thenationals.com.au websites. Watch live over the internet at www.itvlive.com.au or catch up with all the action on SBS Speedweek and Foxtel's Speed in the coming weeks.


1  Tony Ricciardello (WA)  Alfa Romeo GTV/Chev V8  SS  1:28.9890

2  Darren Hossack (Vic)  Audi A4/Chev V8  SS  1:29.9956

3  Kerry Baily (Qld)  Aston Martin DBR9/Chev V8  SS  1:30.0612

4  Des Wall (NSW)  Chev Corvette V8  TA  1:30.4285

5  Chris Jackson (NSW)  Holden Calibra/Chev V8  SS  1:31.2194

6  Shane Bradford (Qld)  Chev Camaro V8  TA  1:31.2506

7  Daniel Tamasi (Vic)  Holden Calibra/Chev V8  SS  1:32.9830

8  Dameon Jameson (NSW)  Jaguar XKR/Chev V8  SS  1:33.0898

9  Birol Cetin (NSW)  Chev Camaro V8  TA  1:33.1924

10  Scott Reed (NSW)  Ford Mustang V8  1:33.8843

11  Jeff Barnes (Qld)  Pontiac Trans Am/Chev V8  SS  SS  1:34.4040

12  Geoff Whittaker (NSW) Holden Commodore VL/Chev V8  SS  1:34.4366

13  Anthony Macready (NSW)  Nissan 300ZX/Chev V8  1:34.4869

14  Simon Copping (NSW)  Holden Commodore V8  SS  SS  1:34.6117

15  Stuart Inwood (NSW)  Ford Falcon AU V8  SS  1:34.9580

16  David McGinniss (NSW)  Holden Calibra/Chev V8  SS  1:35.5276

17  Dean Camm (Vic)  Chev Corvette V8  TA  1:35.5783

18  Chris Donnelly (Qld)  Ford Falcon EB V8  SS  1:36.0221

19  Michael Robinson (Vic)  Holden Monaro/Chev V8  SS  1:36.3335

20  Colin Smith (Qld)  Holden Monaro/Chev V8  SS  1:36.3723

21  Ron Moller (WA)  Chev Camaro V8  TA  1:37.5278

22  Jeff Brown (NSW)  Ford Falcon EL V8  SS  1:37.7375

23  Fred Axisa (NSW)  Holden Commodore VZ V8  SS  1:39.2668

24  Steven Lacey (NSW)  Holden Commodore VK  V8  SS  1:39.9797

25  Andrew Leithhead (NSW)  Alfa Romeo GTV SS  1:44.5651

26  David Cameron (NSW)  Holden Gemini Rotary  SS  1:46.3844

27  Scott Tutton (NSW)  Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 2  SS  1:46.9479

SS=Sportrs Sedans, TA=Trans Am

2018 Calendar

1. May 23-24  Wakefield Park
2. July 4-5  Morgan Park
3. September 5-6  Sydney Motorsport Park
4. September 19-20  The Bend
5. November 28-29  Phillip Island

Championship Points

1. Tony Ricciardello 651
2. Jordan Caruso 540
3. Shane Woodman 428
4. Steven Tamasi 397
5. Michael Robinson 369