Jun 7, 2016


REIGNING FORMULA 3 champion and Australian GT ace Ricky Capo will add further firepower to a boosted Kerrick Sports Sedan National Series grid to race this weekend at Winton Motor Raceway.

Capo, who brilliantly won the F3 title last year in a final round showdown before switching to a BMW Z4 GT3 in this year’s Australian GT championship, will for the first time drive the SAAB-Chevrolet raced last year by his good friend Thomas Randle.

The young Victorian adds more spice to the series which will front with a strong 18-car field this weekend – including championship contenders Jack Perkins and Tony Ricciardello.

In the hands of Randle the iconic Kerrick-supported SAAB finished third in the championship last year, with Capo’s turn behind the wheel the continuation of a longstanding friendship between the respective families.  

“I've known Dean and Thomas Randle for a long time now, (Thomas and I) actually started in go-karts on the same day when we were seven years old so we've been friends throughout my entire racing career,” Capo said.

“Sports Sedans were always a category I was interested in and I would always try to watch their races in between my Formula 3 races last year, so to finally compete in this category is truly exciting for me.”

Capo’s introduction to the 850+ horsepower SAAB will come this Friday in practice.

“I'm expecting it to be like nothing I've driven before, mainly because of the horsepower. We didn't have time to test the car so my first time in it will be on Friday,” he explained.  

“My goal is to learn the nature of the car as soon as possible and hopefully we'll be in a competitive position throughout the weekend! I'd like to thank Dean and DREAMotorsport for the opportunity and I hope to continue racing with them in the future.”

A rallying cry amongst the Victorian Sports Sedan community has seen an influx of local competitors to the Kerrick series grid this weekend – a majority of them there to support fellow racer Damian Johnson.

Johnson, well regarded in both the state and national Sports Sedan fields for hustling his six-cylinder Holden Torana to strong results, recently lost his wife Andrea following a battle with Cancer.

The Victorian will make a one-off return to the track this weekend, racing in her memory. The third race of the weekend will also be dedicated to her memory while all cars on the grid will sport ‘for Andrea’ stickers.

Victorian regulars Ian Cowley (Commodore), Brett Dickie (Honda Prelude), Jonathan Lawson (Subaru), Graeme Hume (Toyota MR2), Daniel Zandt (Mini Cooper) and Vin McNair (Prelude) will add to the field alongside more familiar Kerrick series names like Graeme Gilliland (RX-7), Michael Robinson (Monaro) and Bruce Henley (RX-8).

Kerrick series stalwart Phil Crompton will make his first start of the 2016 season following further developments to his TransAm-specification Ford Mustang, while Queenslander Chris Donnelly will take over Sunshine state racer Shane Bradford’s Camaro for the first time.

Colin Smith (Monaro), Stuart Inwood (Corvette) and former champion Bruce Banks (RX-7) add more depth to the best field of the season to date.

Championship leader Jack Perkins and defending champion Tony Ricciardello are split by just 13 points at the top of the standings heading into the three races this weekend, Perkins edging out the famous Alfa in the series opener at Sandown back in early April this year.

The Holden Racing Team enduro ace remains undefeated in four round starts driving the famous Audi, while Ricciardello won the series’ last visit to Winton in May last year.

Father and Son duo Daniel and Stephen Tamasi will unfortunately miss the round due to family commitments, while the MARC Cars entries will focus on the Australian GT Trophy races due to the tight schedule this weekend – not allowing time to cross enter the vehicles as at Sandown.

All three races will be streamed live on MotorsportsTV this Sunday, June 12 with coverage linked via the Kerrick Sports Sedan Series website and Facebook page.


1 SS Ricciardello Racing Tony Ricciardello WA Alfa Romeo GTV 6000
3 SS Graeme Hume Graeme Hume Vic Toyota MR2 3990
4 SS Auto Union  Motorsport Jack Perkins Vic Audi A4 6000
11 SS Cowley Security Australia Ian Cowley Vic Holden Commodore 4900
12 TA Lennon Engineering International Phil Crompton Qld Ford Mustang  5988
19 SS For Andrea Damian Johnson Vic Holden Torana 3300
21 SS G & G Eng/P & L Mechanical Graeme Gilliland Vic Mazda RX7 2289
29 SS DS Industries/Total Oil Brett Dickie Vic Honda Prelude 1998T
32 SS Bell Real Estate Michael Robinson Vic Holden Monaro 6000
41 SS Stawell Cartage Bruce Henley Vic Mazda RX8 GT 3500
44 SS MR Automotive Colin Smith Qld Holden Monaro 6000
53 TA Rural & Cival Earthworks Stuart Inwood NSW Corvette C5 5958
56 SS BJ Banks Electrical Bruce Banks Tas Mazda RX7 5998
68 TA Aston Air Conditioning Chris Donnelly Qld Chev Camaro 6000
86 SS LRM Global Pty Ltd Jonathan Lawson Vic Subaru V5 STI 2500
87 SS Shepparton Toyota Daniel Zandt Vic JCW Mini Cooper S 1600
93 SS Dream Motorsport Ricky Capo Vic SAAB 6000
96 SS MRT Automotive Vin McNair Vic Honda Prelude 1998

2018 Calendar

1. May 23-24  Wakefield Park
2. July 4-5  Morgan Park
3. September 5-6  Sydney Motorsport Park
4. September 19-20  The Bend
5. November 28-29  Phillip Island

Championship Points

1. Tony Ricciardello 651
2. Jordan Caruso 540
3. Shane Woodman 428
4. Steven Tamasi 397
5. Michael Robinson 369