Jul 31, 2016


SHOULD TONY RICCIARDELLO take Kerrick Sports Sedan Series title number ten this year, he’ll have the reliability of his venerable old Alfa Romeo-Chev to thank for a lot of the success.

The nine-time champ won round three of the series this weekend at Queensland Raceway, as his nearest rival Jack Perkins again showed his speed but again failed to finish two of the three races for the second straight round.

Ricciardello’s consistency saw him take two of the three races this weekend and build his series lead to 141 points.

Perkins has five wins from nine starts this year, however his three DNFs and one non-start have him only sixth in the championship with two rounds remaining.

Perkins weekend started with a series of mechanical dramas in practice, before overnight repairs Friday returned the Auto Union Deutsche Audi to the track in top notch on Saturday, where Perkins grabbed pole position.

Ricciardello qualified second and finished in the same spot in race one, rebounding from an off at turn three on the opening lap to finish behind Perkins – who stormed to win number five of the year.

Kerry Baily finished third on his return to the Kerrick series, with Steven Tamasi and Shane Bradford completing the top five.

Perkins dramas returned in race two when a tyre deflated mid-race, handing the lead and a comfortable victory to Ricciardello – Tamasi and Bradford elevated to the podium in the process.

Ricciardello then completed a lights-to-flag performance in race three when Perkins failed to start after the team noticed the car smoking when they fired it up prior to the race start. With Ricciardello out in front, Steven Tamasi finished second ahead of his father, Daniel, with Shane Bradford and Colin Smith completing the top five.

Ricciardello’s results ensured he won his second-straight Kerrick Sports Sedan series round, while Steven Tamasi's consistency ensured he grabbed second overall. Shane Bradford edged out Daniel Tamasi for the final spot on the round podium while Michael Robinson and Queenslander Colin Smith completed the top five overall.

After three rounds of the championship Ricciardello leads the ever-consistent Michael Robinson by 141 points. The next four cars in the championship are covered by just 52 points – Daniel Tamasi now two points ahead of Steven Tamasi, who in turn is only five ahead of Corvette driver Stuart Inwood.

Perkins is next, 193 points from the lead, with Colin Smith, David Wall, Shane Bradford and Brett Dickie completing the top-10.

Six-time champion Kerry Baily had a competitive yet ultimately unfortunate return to the series as he retired from race two with smoke billowing from his Chevrolet-powered Aston Martin.

Baily had finished third in the opening race, battling aggressively with Tony Ricciardello in the closing stages before ultimately just ceding the second placed to the flying Alfa Romeo in the closing laps.

He again ran competitively in race two before the mechanical dramas forced him to pit lane and out of the race – and a nonstarter for the finale’. 

The next round of the Kerrick Sports Sedan series will see the series travel south to the Phillip Island Grand Prix circuit, to join the Shannons Nationals program on September 9-11.

2018 Calendar

1. May 23-24  Wakefield Park
2. July 4-5  Morgan Park
3. September 5-6  Sydney Motorsport Park
4. September 19-20  The Bend
5. November 28-29  Phillip Island

Championship Points

1. Tony Ricciardello 651
2. Jordan Caruso 540
3. Shane Woodman 428
4. Steven Tamasi 397
5. Michael Robinson 369